News

detroit lakes weather 15 day forecast

October 25, 2020

Some fifteen years later, Rabin had earned the Clark medal, and George Akerlof had delivered a Nobel lecture entitled “Behavioral Macroeconomics.”. But we had also made a truly significant advance, by making it explicit that the objects of choice are mental representations, not objective states of the world. (A long list of classic studies preceded by the question “Which of the following is not a study of latent learning?” comes to mind.) The paper had about 90% of the ideas of Prospect Theory, and quite properly did not impress anyone. Our central observation was that in many contexts the existing situation (e.g., price, rent, or wage) defines a “reference transaction,” to which the transactor (consumer, tenant, and employee) has an entitlement – the violation of such entitlements is considered unfair and may evoke retaliation. I was an eclectic student. When confronted with their inconsistency, people are quite embarrassed. Because our treatment was mistakenly taken to be inclusive, our silences became significant. Amos and I shared the wonder of together owning a goose that could lay golden eggs – a joint mind that was better than our separate minds. Toward a positive theory of consumer choice. As we were writing our first paper, I was conscious of how much better it was than the more hesitant piece I would have written by myself. I audited the clinical sequence, and learned about personality tests from Jack Block and from Harrison Gough. He died as he intended. We have assembled a multi-disciplinary team for an attempt to develop tools for measuring welfare, with the design specification that economists should be willing to take the measurements seriously. It is a strange and rather arbitrary process that selects some pieces of scientific writing for relatively enduring fame while committing most of what is published to almost immediate oblivion. Anne Treisman and I married and moved together to U.B.